About Us

The North Carolina Statewide Independent Living Council (NC SILC) was established in 2006 to meet the requirements of a Federal Law titled “The Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (as amended). This law required that Statewide Independent Living Councils work with the NC Centers for Independent Living to help identify the needs of people with disabilities in our state and jointly create a 3-year plan to address them. Our role is not to provide direct services to individuals, but to help advance Independent Living options among the disability community in North Carolina.


To promote a philosophy of independent living, including a philosophy of consumer control, peer support, self-help, self-determination, equal access, and individual and systems advocacy, in order to maximize opportunities for individuals with disabilities and the integration and full inclusion of individuals with disabilities into the mainstream of society.


Gloria Garton – Executive Director

Monique Stamps - Public Policy & Outreach Director

Council Members

  • Karla Gray – Chair
  • Ashley Large – Vice-Chair
  • Eva Reynolds – Treasurer
  • Vacant– Secretary
  • Daniel Conway– Member-at-Large
  • Lindsay Dozier– Member-at-Large
  • Samantha Nevins  – Center Director Representative
  • Michael Evola
  • Pat McGinnis
  • Robert Hooe
  • Celeste Hunt
  • David Oberhart
  • Jordan Slade
  • Shay Webb

Ex-Officio Members

  • Jennifer Pleasants- DHHS/Division of Vocational Rehab
  • Crystal Jackson Cheek – DHHS/DSB
  • Brian Michaels – DHHS/DHOH
  • Tara Mueller – Disability Rights North Carolina
  • Talley Wells – DHHS – Development Disabilities Council
  • Tania Bowers- NC Client Assistance Program

Stay Informed

Sign up for our newsletter to receive notifications on upcoming events, community meetings, and NC SILC board meetings.